Home Sweet Home

What was the last-minute gift for my parents’ anniversary? Hmm..

Cannolis! From the Ferrara Bakery in Little Italy. They loved them! It was so nice in NYC yesterday, we were walking around all day without coats. Home was a different story, I stepped off the plane and it had just started snowing…

I don’t really mind the snow though, it looked beautiful today. The skies and sun were gorgeous and it really wasn’t too chilly.

I really love the open space and peacefulness of home. It is such a contrast from the city and in the spirit of Thanksgiving, I am thankful for that.

I spent most of the morning visiting with the energetic puppy Cheya and princess Clover as well as prepping a whole bunch of food for later in the day and for tomorrow.

I cut bread into cubes for the stuffing, made the cranberry sauce, made dough for a half recipe of cinnamon rolls for Liv, and made the dough base and pumpkin butter for a half recipe of pumpkin oat bites. The dough for the pumpkin oat bites is unbelievable! My mom and I had to fight the urges to eat it all.

Before we picked Liv up from the bus station, mom and I went to lunch at Strong Hearts. I had a salad with agave mustard dressing and she had a BLT on pumpernickel. We also got about two-thirds of a bowl of sweet potato bisque on the house because it was almost gone. Delish!

When we got home, I popped the cinnamon rolls in the oven, and finished making the pumpkin oat bites. Of course we couldn’t resist eating a few… I also made a garlic pizza for my parents for dinner, some more sweet potato bisque, and a chilled salad of thawed frozen spinach, sauteed mushrooms and onions, baked sweet potatoes, and craisins. For the dressing I used balsamic and maple syrup. It was amazing. I am extremely full now…! :)

Emily <3

Question: Are you a dog or cat person?

Leave a Reply

