Christmas, I’m Ready for You

I spent today wrapping gifts, listening to Christmas music, and baking up a storm. I found a giant squash just hanging around, full of potential.

I had no idea what kind of squash it was or how to cook it. I eventually ended up taking the biggest knife I could find and hacked it into pieces. Part of it looked like it was rotting so I discarded about half the squash. And there is still a ton of squash here. After getting the thing into the oven, I hit up google. It turns out this is a hubbard squash, the same type of squash my Mom was just reading to her class about in Little House in the Big Woods. The verdict? It is pretty good if you’re a fan of winter squash.

After the squash-baking, I got to the real baking.

I made fatfree fabulous fudgy brownies from the FatFree Vegan Kitchen subbing in applesauce for the tofu and black cocoa instead of dutch.

Then I made a half recipe of gingerbread biscotti, also from the FatFree Vegan Kitchen. This started off well and then went horribly wrong and I had to start all over again. I hate to admit this as I have an insatiable sweet tooth… I forgot to add the sugar!

Gingerbread biscotti round two went much better.

At the request of my Dad, I also made Grandma’s oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. He is fighting high cholesterol and of course with my diet naturally free of cholesterol, I’m here to help! And what better way to help than by veganizing an old favorite.

1/2 Cup Earth Balance Non-hydrogenated Shortening
3/4 Cup Sugar (half white, half brown)
1 Tbsp Ground Flaxseeds
2-3 Tbsp Hot Water
1/2 Tsp Vanilla Extract
3/4 Cup White Whole Wheat Flour (or WWP)
1/2 Tsp Baking Soda
1/2 Tsp Salt
1 Cup Rolled Oats
1/2 Cup Dark Chocolate Chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit. Mix the flaxseeds with the hot water and set aside. Cream together the shortening and sugar. Stir in the flaxseed, vanilla, and chocolate chips. Sift the dry ingredients together and mix into the wet ingredients. Shape into balls and place on parchment paper lined baking sheets. Bake for 10-15 minutes depending on how gooey/soft or crispy/crunchy you like them.

Somehow I managed to restrain myself from eating all the batter and cookie dough and other than a biscotti taste-test, I haven’t even eaten any of the finished product. Instead, I had a salad.

I mixed plain old hummus with Frank’s Red Hot and had that on a bed of leafy greens, carrots, halved grapes, and tomato. Buffalo Middle Eastern fusion?

Emily <3

Question: If you like hummus, what’s you favorite kind?

2 responses to “Christmas, I’m Ready for You

  1. Plain hummus with lots of hot sauce mixed in. THE best!

  2. Pingback: On Imperfection | extraordinarymoments

Leave a Reply

