Lemons & Lyme

After a difficult few days of headaches, body aches, chills, and extreme tiredness, I finally went to the doctor yesterday. I got bit by a tick a few weeks ago and the symptoms I was having strikingly resembled those of Lyme disease.

Long story short, when I got to the doctor I had a fever and low pulse rate (which I explained was normal because duh, I’m a runner) so the doctor did a blood test which neither confirmed nor disconfirmed anything. To be on the safe side, she is treating me for Lyme disease because if left untreated it can lead to more serious issues.

On a lighter note, I’ve had some good eats recently! I’m kind of obsessed with lentils because of their insanely awesome nutritional stats (10g protein and 11g fiber!) so my dinner last night was curried lentils and whole wheat couscous over spring mix, and tonights (unpictured) dinner was lentils and polenta with tomato sauce over steamed spinach.

Last night’s dessert was a Boston Cookies brownie from veganessentials that has been tucked away in the freezer for some time. It doesn’t look like much but I assure you, warming it in the microwave for a few seconds produced an insanely freshly baked-tasting soft and fudgy brownie.

Tonight’s dessert was a little on the lighter side, Katie’s Single Lady Lemon Cupcake! I used whole wheat pastry flour, homemade apple sauce, stevia, and added in a handful of blueberries.

It was awesome!

I also made my Mom a strawberry vanilla cupcake which I didn’t photograph but she enjoyed it topped with a little vanilla ice cream!

Emily <3

Question: Have you ever been bit by a tick? What’s the strangest or worst illness you’ve ever had? Are you a cupcake fan?

One response to “Lemons & Lyme

  1. Oh wow, it’s beautiful!!

    I never got Lyme disease, but when we lived in Philly, I remember having to check for ticks all the time… and at school we even did Lyme disease coloring books to learn about it! (I secretly loved those coloring books lol!)

    Sending good thoughts your way!

Leave a Reply

