Not Quite A Baking Fail & Eight Mile Run

Yesterday I worked from 10:00-4:00 and it seriously flew by! I felt like I was there for 2 hours. We had a pretty steady flow of visitors throughout the day which always makes the time go by so much faster. I was so far from bored that I almost forgot to eat lunch! I always bring a salad topped with hummus but we were out so I topped it with balsamic vinegar and a ton of horseradish mustard. Spicy!

Before I left for work I left a cup of chickpeas to so I could fix the lack of hummus disaster when I got home. I cooked the chickpeas and then winged the recipe adding about 2 tablespoons of tahini, and a few sprinkles of garlic, onion, and salt.

It made a ton of hummus but I have a feeling it won’t last very long, it’s delicious!

After reading about¬†clafoutis¬†(oh, and drooling over the photos) over at Love Veggies and Yoga, I could not stop thinking about it! I decided to attempt to veganize it. Most of the vegan clafoutis recipes I came across used silken tofu in place of the eggs but a. I don’t have silken tofu and b. soy in my belly is sometimes disastrous.

I ended up using blueberries, 2 tablespoons ground flax mixed with 6 tablespoons warm water, 2 tablespoons applesauce, 1/4 cup evaporated cane juice (I cut way down on this but it turned out sweet enough for me), vanilla almond milk, vanilla extract, and whole wheat pastry flour.

The batter was super watery so I was very nervous about the results.

The outcome was less than stellar. I wasn’t even going to post about it because it was just a sweet and gooey blueberry mess. Delicious, yes, but not especially attractive.

However, I am pleased to announce that one day later it is actually sliceable and able to be eaten without a spoon!

Time heals all wounds right? I have no idea if clafoutis tastes anything like this, but whatever it is it’s yummy so I’m not complaining!

Alright, moving on to today. Jerod and I went on an 8 mile run through our town. The first 2 miles were a piece of cake but each one after that was progressively more difficult. When we started the temperatures were great but by mile 7 it was a scorcher!

We walked the last .8 miles to his house, chugged some water, ate some fruit, and just chilled outside.

I’ve been exhausted since we finished but we’re in need of some groceries so I’m thinking I will hop to that. Plus I am craving a kombucha!

Emily <3

Question: Do you ever have unexpected baking successes?

2 responses to “Not Quite A Baking Fail & Eight Mile Run

  1. You made so many modifications and yes, without real eggs and real cream, who knows if it tastes like clafoutis but it looks like you got it to hold together, it’s sliceable, and you like it….that’s a winner then :) Happy 4th!

  2. I don’t use dressing anymore. I’ve been using balsamic vinegar and hummus too!!

Leave a Reply

