Nature Valley Granola Bars

If you were wondering, my Dad loves the peanut butter oatmeal squares I made yesterday. As I was staring at what will become his breakfast when I leave (Nature Valley granola bars), I decided to try to make them myself.

This is what I came up with:

Ingredients
1 Cup Quick Oats
1 Cup Rolled Oats
2 Tbsp. Ground Flaxseeds
3 Tbsp. Canola Oil
1/3 Cup Agave
1 Tsp. Molasses
1/2 Tsp. Vanilla Extract
1/2 Tsp. Cinnamon
1/4 Tsp. Salt
1/4 Tsp. Baking Soda
3 Squares Ghiradelli Dark Chocolate
1/4-1/2 Cup Walnuts

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit. Spread oats on a baking sheet and bake for about 10 minutes stirring every two minutes to prevent burning. Set aside to cool. Chop dark chocolate and walnuts. Whisk together the flax, oil, agave, molasses, vanilla, cinnamon, salt, and baking soda. Mix in dark chocolate chunks and walnuts. Add in the cooled oats and press into a greased 8×11 glass pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Let cool, then cut into bars.

I attempted to cut these before they had cooled completely and ending up with.. well, not-in-bar-form-granola.

Do they taste like Nature Valley? Probably not, but my Mom has been getting up about every two minutes to “sample” the crumbs that broke off during the cutting process.

Emily ❤

Question: Do you have a favorite granola or granola bar recipe?

Leave a Reply

