Hello Sunshine & Things I Love VI.

Wow! I can’t believe it’s been over 24 hours since I’ve really sat down to my computer. I made it to Florida and although it’s not very warm, at least the sun is shining. My flight here was not flawless but pretty enjoyable nonetheless. Leaving Philadelphia, we were stuck on the tarmac for about 2 hours because of some maintenance and de-icing issues. However, I was stuck next to probably the happiest person on the entire plane: an extremely talkative, first time flying, 5 year old and her mom. We spent the next two hours drawing pictures of princesses, playing tic-tac-toe, and sharing carrot sticks. I used to hate kids and this would have been a nightmare for me, but since working with incoming 1st graders at the summer enrichment program at my old school, I’m doing much better.

When we got home yesterday, we had dinner and I went to sleep early. I slept for a much needed 12 hours after getting a terrible night’s sleep the night before (my sister was on a bus that didn’t get in until 3:00am and I had to get up at 4:30). Today we went to an orange grove store where I got to sample different types of oranges and grapefruit juice! Then we went to Cocoa Village to get tickets to see Man of La Mancha, and walked around popping in and out of lots of shops.

After our excursion we went to lunch at Pat’s Place, a little Greek restaurant. I ordered the Greek salad, minus the feta, plus extra kalamata olives. Yum. Long story short, after lunch we went to Lowes, then we came home, then I went grocery shopping, then I went on a little baking spree.

I made those beloved oatmeal squares again, minus the tofu, plus extra apples/applesauce. The Grandparents say they are too good to be called breakfast food.

Then I made peanut butter cookies for my sister who is coming in tonight at midnight! It was her birthday yesterday.

For dinner I had a salad of baby greens, carrots, cucumbers, olives, craisins, green beans, walnuts, and raspberry balsamic dressing. Plus a baked sweet potato. Dessert was my Grandma’s homemade cinnamon applesauce.

Here’s what I’m loving this Thursday:

Dancers Among Us
❤ Baking
❤ Walnuts
❤ The SU STJ game
❤ President Obama's Tucson memorial speech
❤ Consignment shops
McDonald’s = death?
❤ Sunshine
❤ The forecast for the rest of the week
❤ Vegan week at TheKitchn
❤ Schick Intuition
❤ You Raise Me Up
❤ Iced Merlot nail polish
Elephant sweaters
❤ Blog reading
❤ Juicy pears
❤ Sharps and flats
❤ "Beauty and the breast"
❤ Family!

Emily ❤

Question: What has been making you happy?

One response to “Hello Sunshine & Things I Love VI.

Leave a Reply

