Everything’s Going My Way

Or not. Actually nothing really went my way this morning. To start, I could not fall asleep last night. I must’ve laid there for 3 hours wishing I could sleep. That rarely happens to me! This morning I headed to the gym arriving at about 10:30, only to find out that on Sundays the gym opens at 12:00. So I headed over to one of the student centers and busied myself with runnersworld, recipe emailing, and running shoe hunting. When I finally got on a treadmill I warmed up for a planned 6 miles. Let’s just say it didn’t really go the way I had envisioned. The first 3 miles were great. And then somewhere around 3.3 miles I decided I wanted to watch a podcast. In my attempt to navigate my iPhone while running, I dropped my student id which hit the belt and was flung onto the floor behind me. And then I dropped my iPhone which clunked it’s way to the floor to hang out with my id. So, I stopped the treadmill, gathered my belongings, and decided to walk to regain some mental stability. After a good 5 minutes of walking I took up the running again. Only this time, by mile 4 my left 2nd toe was in some strange pain so I cooled down and hopped off the treadmill. Upon removing my shoe, I was confronted with a bloodstained sock. I took that as a sign that it was definitely time to stop. Tomorrow will be a rest day for sure. When I went back to the locker room to change I realized I had lost my id. So I went back into the gym to grab it off the treadmill… Only it wasn’t there. I went back to the locker room only to realize that I had stuffed it in my shoe. I felt so scattered though, I just wanted to cry.

I apologize for the gross foot picture. The bloodstained sock was actually way grosser.

After that whole fiasco, I headed out into the freezing cold, but sunshiny and blue sky day. I made my way back to my dorm, drank some water, snacked on a few soy crisps and half a frozen banana and took a long shower. Now I’m eating lunch and feeling much better. I’m telling myself to “think the way I want to feel” and usually that helps! 🙂

Emily ❤

Question: Have you had a bad day lately? What makes you feel better?

Leave a Reply

