Goodbye ENG 1100C

I have sat through two of my English 1100C classes thinking to myself “this seems very similar to the English Textual Studies class I took through Syracuse University in high school.” Actually, my thoughts were probably more like “why the hell am I here?!! I’ve already read Their Eyes Were Watching God and written extensive papers on culture and perceptions!”

So, I set out to see my advisor armed with my giant portfolio from my Syracuse classes. I actually took two English classes through Syracuse, WRT105 and ETS142. The first transferred with no problem as the first required composition class while the second transferred as an elective. I’d like to pick my own electives thank you very much.

My three inch binder bursting with literary creations.

He told me I would have to make a case for myself and convince the Dean that my Syracuse class should cover the class I’m currently enrolled in. I told him I’d be happy to if he could point me in the right direction.

So, next stop: Dean’s office. Long story short, he was intimidating and challenged everything I said. But I whipped out my lawyer skills (and giant binder) and was prepared to argue. Having both the syllabus from my high school professor, and the actual course description from SU sealed the deal and now I’m officially exempt from ENG 1100C. Every accomplishment starts with the decision to try.

Backtracking to last night, I made guacamole! It was kind of difficult to be honest because I don’t have a sharp knife in my dorm room. But of course I made it work.

I used half of the guacamole kit (avocado, tomato, onion, garlic, lime, jalapeno) omitting the jalapeno pepper and adding salt and black pepper. I like when the flavors are all melded together so it is patiently awaiting consumption as it chills in the fridge.

I apologize, guacamole is just not that photogenic. Of course if I had a crystal serving dish and/or one of those fancy shmancy light boxes that are being featured all over the blogworld, it would probably look more appetizing. Hey, I do what I can.

This morning I had a disgusting trek to the gym. It was snowing like crazy and I made the poor decision to wear a pair of Uggs. The sidewalks and streets weren’t plowed so the ground was covered with a thick, mucky slush. My feet were soaked by the time I got there but surprisingly I didn’t really care. I did 30 minutes, or 3ish miles on the interval setting of the elliptical followed by some stretching while being annoyed by the grunting and groaning man lifting weights nearby.

Well, this post is lacking chronology. Oh well.

Emily ❤

Question: Do you make noises when you work out? If you don’t, do you get annoyed by people who do?

Leave a Reply

