Achy Arms

I woke up today with satisfyingly sore arms from yesterday’s workout. Today was a 3.5 mile run completed in about 32 minutes meaning my average pace was around 9:08 per mile. When I got back I did my apple, shower, kashi routine then headed off to class.

The pavement and sidewalks are super slick because we’re having some freezing rain. The skies are grey and overall it’s a pretty bleak day. Which leads me to share with you a source of daily positivity.

The Daily Book of Positive Quotations!

Bookmarked with a Polaroid of me and my Mom from last summer. ❤

Today's quote is: "Zen does not confuse spirituality with thinking about God while one is peeling potatoes. Zen spirituality is just to peel the potatoes.” -Alan W. Watts

It’s interesting and definitely true that we sometimes have a hard time just being without thinking or attaching words to experience. When I’m running I go through phases of being completely zoned out to obsessively thinking about certain things. I can’t say I dislike thinking while I run or thinking in general but I can see how it may be beneficial to our minds to give them a break once in a while and just be in the present moment.

Emily ❤

Question: Do you ever try to “clear” your mind (temporarily of course)?

Leave a Reply

