Candle 79

I completed a 3.5 mile run plus a strength (arms and abs) workout this morning. When I got back I showered and enjoyed a nice big container of refreshing watermelon. I’ll be back to studying, getting ready for the day, and off to the university shortly but first I’ll backtrack.

Yesterday morning’s run was a 40 minute tempo which ended up being about 4.5 miles. After that I came back to our room, showered, had an apple, and got ready to head over to school for a meeting and study group. Well, the meeting was cancelled and the study group ended up being more like story time so, although it was fun, it was kind of a waste of a trip. Hence the reason I didn’t post last night (I was studying my brains out for a quiz on geography of Europe).

When I got back to the city, my Mom and I met at Lord and Taylor, by far one of our favorite stores. God bless the man who was helping me because I tried on an insane amount of shoes.

I ended up getting these beautiful Michael Kors shoes for an awesome deal!

After we exhausted ourselves with shopping, we headed uptown to my favorite restaurant Candle 79! Because we’ve been going out for the past few nights we decided to eat a little lighter than we have been.

First, we were brought a complimentary appetizer of crostini with hummus, olives, and pineapple. It was an interesting but good flavor combination.

Then we shared probably my favorite thing on the menu, Angel’s Nachos. The menu describes it as: corn chips, cheddar & mozzarella, tomatoes, refried pinto beans, chili-grilled seitan, guacamole, salsa, tofu sour cream, romaine lettuce.

We ordered salads for our entrees, my mom got the stuffed avocado: baby greens, quinoa, butternut squash, cucumber, chickpeas, grape tomatoes, radishes, toasted pumpkin seeds, chipotle-avocado dressing. I tried some and it was awesome!

I ordered the salad special which consisted of baby greens, avocado, fingerling potatoes, eggplant, cauliflower, onions, and sunflower seeds with a chipotle-avocado dressing. Amazing. (Note: The presentation was fabulous but I snapped this photo after I started digging in.)

On the side we ordered the sweet potato fries with a garlic and chive aioli. I highly recommend this!

No meal is complete without dessert, so we ordered coffees and split the cannoli.

Which was clearly camera-shy…

Emily ❤

Question: Favorite dessert food?

Leave a Reply

