Homeward Bound

I forgot to mention last night that just about everyone in attendance for the STJ vs. USF game received Steve Lavin bobble heads!

Adorable right?

Anyway, this morning I stopped at Whole Foods before making my way over to Port Authority to catch a bus back upstate. I wasn’t supposed to leave until later in the afternoon but I got there around 12:00 and the guy at the door asked if anyone wanted to leave right away. Um, me? So I got on the bus with a total of 11 other people and was able to stretch out across two seats for the five hour drive.

I also didn’t have to worry about offending anyone with my Whole Foods salad bar concoction.

It started out with some simple baby greens, and then I added… just about everything. And topped with carrot ginger dressing. It looks gross but trust me, it was delicious!

Plus a Zevia. I’m not usually a fan of soda but this brand has me won over for that occasional can.

I also brought along a half full tupperware container of cheerios mixed with granola to snack on.

By the time we got as far as Binghamton, the snow was coming down and it was like we had entered an entirely different snow covered world. It was 52 degrees when I left NYC. Temperature upon arrival in Syracuse? 26.

It all went downhill from there. My Dad picked me up in our little Ford focus in the midst of a blizzard  instead of his F150 for reasons unknown to me or my Mom. But I thought hey, I haven’t lived here recently so maybe this guy knows what’s up.

We made it to Wegmans alright which is a good thing because we stocked up on groceries that will probably get us through til the next ice age. Wait, is that now?

We also made it 99% of the way home fine. But, the beginning of my driveway is a very steep hill that the poor little focus just could not handle. We got stuck and after trying to make it up the hill for about 15 minutes straight, my Dad went for the plow. He plowed our half mile driveway out (no I’m not exaggerating), got the car up the hill, and then I followed his tracks back to the house. It was an experience to say the least.

On the bright side, my Mom had some fabulous vegan chili simmering on the stove for when we actually got in the door!

Emily ❤

Question: How’s the weather wherever you are? If it’s 75 and sunny I don’t want to hear it though. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

