More & Fitness Magazine Half-Marathon

I honestly could not have asked for a better day.

Yesterday afternoon I met my Mom in the city and headed over to our hotel, The Kimberly, on 50th and Lex. It was gorgeous and definitely an upgrade from college dorm rooms. A huge upgrade.

The best part was the unpictured balcony!

After getting settled into our room, we headed downtown to my favorite TJ Maxx and Marshalls. I wanted to try on a ton of things but the 3 mile long line for the fitting room was definitely discouraging.

But out of that, came this:

Justin’s organic honey peanut butter, $4.99, and Kelapo organic coconut oil, $5.99!

After shopping, we went to the nearby Whole Foods and grabbed some dinner. I got a humongous salad and a vegan gingersnap cookie. I actually thought I had grabbed a vegan maple pecan cookie but the gingersnap was awesome, so no complaints there. We headed back to the hotel afterwards to spend the rest of the night relaxing.

I fell asleep around 9:30 watching Sex and the City 2 only to wake up around 2:00. I could not fall back asleep but laid in bed until around 4:00 when I decided I might as well get up. Although I had only gotten about 5 hours of sleep I was full of energy and super excited for the More and Fitness half-marathon!

We got to Central Park around 7:40, plenty of time for photos!

I lined up in my designated corral and impatiently awaited the start of the race.

I ran hard and strong for the first 10 miles, consuming a banana and some water, but somewhere after the 10 mile mark I felt my legs starting to fade. I luckily convinced myself it was all in my head and was able to resist the urge of collapsing!

Seeing my little personal cheering section around mile 12 definitely perked me up and I finished the last 1.1 miles with some newfound energy.

I crossed the line under 2:00:00, I don’t remember exactly the time, with tears in my eyes. I graciously took my medal, an apple, water, and a “blanket.”

Soon after, Lizzy, Danielle, and my Mom found me and congratulated me on my run! I was so exhausted, sore, sweaty, chilly, and most importantly sincerely happy.

I am so lucky to have such supportive friends and family, I love you guys!

After strutting trudging back to the hotel and showering, we headed uptown to my favorite restaurant, Candle 79, for brunch!

We got there at about 11:55 and they don’t open until 12:00 so what better way to pass the time than take pictures! (Yes, I am still wearing my medal!)

I ordered an incredible hot cocoa to start. I was a little nervous that it was made with soymilk and might upset my stomach, but 6 hours later I’m still feeling fine!

My Mom ordered the tofu scramble which she said was great and substantial.

Lizzy and Danielle both ordered the pancakes which they really enjoyed!

And I ordered the waffles. Let’s just say I was in heaven. Real maple syrup drenched heaven.

After we parted ways, my Mom and I headed upstate to see my Aunt’s new baby! She is beautiful.

We also got to see my Mom’s cousin who has been very sick with cancer for awhile. He has had so many prayers going his way and it seems those prayers may have been answered. He was accepted into a trial for a new medication and the difference he has experienced is huge. He looks so happy and healthy and is truly just his old self. Thank you, God.

At some point during the course of the day, I checked nyrr.org to see if I could find my official time for the race.

I realized I placed 10th in my age group and was on the awards list!

I wished we had stuck around for the award ceremony but I guess shower+waffles>award ceremony in this case. My time is not exceptionally fast so I had no idea I would have even come close to receiving an award!

Oh well, c’est la vie!

As soon as I got back to my room at school I set out to decorate.

On top of an already fabulous day, I just received this text message:

I told you, I could not have asked for a better day.

Emily ❤

Question: Do you enjoy running? Have you ever been in a race?

6 responses to “More & Fitness Magazine Half-Marathon

  1. Congrats on the half! So awesome!

  2. Pingback: Things I Love Thursday XVIII. | extraordinarymoments

  3. Pingback: Friday Night Recap & Race Number Pickup | extraordinarymoments

  4. Pingback: Spring Fling | extraordinarymoments

  5. Pingback: The Best Day | extraordinarymoments

Leave a Reply

