On Imperfection

I realized something today. Not something new or surprising, just something that I never really thought long or hard about. I will never be perfect. And guess what? Neither will you! I will never be the fastest, or the strongest, or the smartest, or the most beautiful but that is perfectly okay.

I definitely think it is good to strive toward being better but trying to be “perfect” is seriously stressful! After all, we weren’t created to be perfect beings.


I didn’t win homecoming queen.


I was never great at soccer.


I wasn’t president of Honor Society.


I wasn’t Sandy in Grease.


I never wanted to be a ski racer.


After five(ish) years of flying, I don’t have a pilot’s license.


I probably won’t have another 4.0 GPA.


I’ve had baking flops.


I finished in 1084th place out of 7494.

Not being the best however, isn’t being the worst. I continually push myself toward being the best I can be and in the end that’s usually enough. Life is too short to spend every waking moment striving for society or another person’s perception of perfection. It’s the little things about us, imperfect qualities and all, that make us the unique individuals that we are!

Anyway, I headed to the gym this morning for 60 minutes of intervals plus a 5 minute cool down on the elliptical. Afterwards I did a leg strength workout. I felt awesome during and after! 🙂

Emily ❤

Question: Do you find yourself striving toward unattainable perfection? What’s something imperfect about yourself? Do you accept that?

5 responses to “On Imperfection

  1. You are perfectly perfect to be you. If you were perfect, nobody would like you 🙂

  2. I’ve learned the hard way that no ones perfect. Just gotta do the best you can!

  3. This got me all teary-eyed. Great post!
    Love, MB

    BTW You should have been Sandy. ; ) (just sayin)

  4. You didn’t convince me —I still think you are perfect!! Love You, Gma

Leave a Reply

