Palm Sunday Strawberry Cake

After coming back to campus and showering after my race, my Aunt came to pick me up for a late lunch/early dinner with a whole bunch of family at her house. While everyone was in the living room munching on appetizers, I was taking over the kitchen and having my own appetizers in the form of frosting, cake batter, strawberries…

I was inspired by Martha Stewart’s strawberry cream cake but obviously wanted to make it without eggs, dairy, or gelatin. I was going more for the look of the cake than the actual taste and therefore used a double recipe of Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World golden vanilla cupcakes.

For the frosting I beat together about a half tub of Earth Balance, vanilla extract, and a bunch of powdered sugar until I thought it was right. Out of my sheer impatience, I frosted the cake way before it was totally cooled. This actually ended up being a good thing in my book though because the melty frosting sort of seeped into the cake.

For the strawberry topping, I sliced about a pound of strawberries and combined with two tablespoons of sugar. I let it sit for the duration of cake mixing, baking, and frosting and by the time I was ready to use the strawberries they had developed an amazingly sweet and juicy flavor.

In terms of “real” food, my Uncle grilled a portobello mushroom for me alongside the real burgers and hotdogs. For never grilling a mushroom before he did a pretty awesome job. Stuck in a whole wheat bun and spread with hummus, it was delicious! My Aunt made a pasta salad to go alongside the burgers which was perfectly flavorful. This meal definitely hit the spot!

Even though I had taste-tested my way through baking, I could not resist some of the cake. I probably could have eaten the whole thing! Everyone else seemed to enjoy it as well.

I took a plate full of cupcakes back to campus with me and gave one to my roommate, one to Danielle, and a few to Mike and his roommate (and one for me of course!). We watched Wedding Daze at Mike’s place and I’d be lying if I said yesterday’s 5:30am wake-up call didn’t catch up with us. Danielle and I were nodding off on the couch the whole time! Needless to say, I slept very well last night.

Emily ❤

Question: When is the last time you had a cupcake?

2 responses to “Palm Sunday Strawberry Cake

  1. mmmm! that cake looks seriously delicious.
    last time i had a cupcake…fri night?!

  2. oh dang! that looks so good! actually, i can’t remember the last time i had a cupcake. i need to change that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

