Witchiness & Candle 79

Last night as I was getting ready for class, (well more so for dinner afterwards) an eyelash fell out while I was doing my makeup. I’m the kind of girl that believes in lucky pennies and wishes at 11:11 so naturally I made a wish. I wished that my 6:55-9:35 class would get cancelled… And it did! I checked my email probably five minutes later and excitedly read this: Unfortunately, the class scheduled for Tuesday, April 19, 2011 is canceled.   We will meet next week and we will conclude with Marcus Cicero and pick up with St. Augustine. How crazy is that? My roommate and I were freaking out and I called my Mom who calls stuff like this “witchy.”

Mike and I moved our 10:15 reservation at my favorite restaurant, Candle 79, up to 8:00 which was perfect because by 10:15, I would have been ravenous and exhausted.

Mike started off with a beer, Eel River organic porter, recommended by our fabulous waiter while I sipped water.

For a starter, we shared Angel’s Nachos which never disappoints.

I had the Stuffed Avocado salad as my entree. All the flavors and textures were outstanding.

Mike ordered the Seitan Piccata and really enjoyed it! I snagged a couple bites just to confirm its deliciousness.

Of course we couldn’t pass up dessert and ended up deciding on the cannoli.

In the words of Mike, it was “phenomenal.”

This was Mike’s first time eating at a vegan restaurant, let alone trying seitan, and he really enjoyed everything! I couldn’t be happier!

Well, I’m off to the gym and then I’m meeting my Mom and Cousin in the city! 🙂

Emily ❤

Question: Have you ever had anything “witchy” happen to you?

5 responses to “Witchiness & Candle 79

  1. Sounds like a great night and a wonderful meal…but help an old guy out: wjat is Seitan???

  2. Seitan is made from wheat gluten and if very high in protein. It has a sort of chewy texture and takes on the flavor of whatever you cook it with. It is in the same category as tofu for vegetarians. Love you!

  3. Aw i love that your grandpa comments as grandpa 🙂 my parents do that too!!

    my boyfriend and i are going to a vegan restaurant on saturday 🙂 yay!!!

  4. All the time.

  5. Pingback: Cafe Blossom For Lunch | extraordinarymoments

Leave a Reply

