Kitchen Creations

When I have access to a kitchen, especially when I’m home, I am notorious for taking advantage of a fully stocked pantry and basic appliances. With some extremely ripe bananas sitting around it was obvious that I needed to bake banana bread. I ended up using Angela’s Rustic Chocolate Chip Banana Oat Cake recipe sans the chocolate chips and glaze and using a flax egg to substitute for the applesauce.

My parents and I loved this! Less that 24 hours after leaving the oven there is barely any left! 🙂

This morning I braved the elements to go for a nice 6 mile run outside. Before I left my Mom and I had a conversation that went something like this:

Her: You’re not using your iPod are you?
Me: I was planning on it, why?
Her: How are you going to hear the traffic?
Side note: We live in the middle of nowhere
Me: You mean the Amish horses and buggies?

This was followed by laughter and me explaining to my Mom that I only run with one earbud in. And just for the record, during the entirety of my run I probably saw about 5 cars.

I finished in a pretty quick 52 minutes probably because I was thinking about the stuff I had prepped before I left.

I made half of Heather’s Cookie Dough Smoothie recipe using ground flax instead of chia seeds, no chocolate, and about a teaspoon of protein powder.

It was good but I think next time I’ll throw in a frozen banana!

I also made Mama Pea’s Vegan Apple Cinnamon Protein Pancakes using buckwheat flour instead of oat flour. These were delicious drizzled with pure maple syrup!

I made two smaller pancakes with blueberries for my Mom, she enjoyed them!

I’ve been using LifeTime Life’s Basics Vanilla Plant Protein. This is definitely my favorite protein powder so far! 🙂

Emily ❤

Question: Where is your favorite place to run? I’d have to say Central Park is mine. Country roads are definitely not at the top of my list.

3 responses to “Kitchen Creations

  1. that oat cake is a great way to use the ingredients! looks so good

  2. i love running outside and always use my ipod…never thought of not being able to hear traffic!

    blueberry pancakes are my favorite – your mom has good taste 🙂

  3. Favorite place to run: The Forest of Nisene Marks in Santa Cruz, CA. Lovely trails.

    Glad you had a good run and chased it down with the cookie dough smoothie. Perfect way to refuel in my opinion. 🙂

    I tried a sample of that protein powder once, and it was really good. Not sure how they masked the hemp so well, but they managed to do it!

Leave a Reply

