Marshmallows & Meatless Balls

I’m feeling awful today! It has been a very long time since I’ve been sick so I guess it was bound to happen sometime. Anyway, I was busy in the kitchen again yesterday.

First up, an attempt at marshmallows! I used agave instead of corn syrup and although it tasted great it never really set up. On the bright side though, I now have a whole dish of marshmallow fluff.

The fluff spread with peanut butter on a coco-pop is delicious!

After plenty of sugar yesterday morning, I needed major veggies for lunch.

I had a huge salad of baby greens, carrots, walnuts, and a grilled portobello mushroom topped with some nutritional yeast and hummus.

Halfway through eating the salad I decided I wanted a portobello burger sandwich, so I put the remnants of the mushroom in a nice hunk of chewy ciabatta bread with some lettuce and ketchup.

For a meatless Good Friday meal for my parents, I made whole wheat penne baked in a tomato and butternut squash sauce with Veganomicon’s bean balls. In addition to that and a salad, I also made use of a box of phyllo dough we had in the freezer.

I spread the inside of the shells with garlic hummus and then filled them with crumbled bean balls, greens, and tomato sauce. I sprinkled most of them with parmesan cheese for my parents but a left a few cheeseless for me.

They really enjoyed everything!

I’m sorry this photo has absolutely nothing to do with this post but I had to include it!

Emily ❀

Question: When is the last time you’ve been sick? Any cures/remedies to share?

5 responses to “Marshmallows & Meatless Balls

  1. Haha, my doggie sleepls like that, too. I probably have 100 pictures just like that. πŸ™‚

  2. I haven’t been sick in about three years. Try a Kombucha πŸ˜‰

    • I haven’t been sick in so long, it’s awful! But ironically I had my first kombucha on Thursday… Hmm, maybe I need to jump on the daily dose bandwagon.

  3. mmm the little meatball cups look delicious! I actually like marshmallow fluff more than marshmallows so that sounds good to me! πŸ™‚

    I was sick a week ago, I just try to rest and eat whatever I feel like because my body usually leads me the right way! πŸ™‚

  4. all your food looks great!

Leave a Reply

