Sushi & Sugar Cut Out Cookies

Up until about 8:00 last night my diet had consisted of kombucha, an apple, some grapes, and a cup of miso soup. For some reason I had NO appetite. That might have been my sick body talking, but who knows? I went over to Mike’s and decided to order a salad and some sushi because I really can’t go a day without some veggies.

I ended up getting an avocado salad with ginger dressing which was way more delicious than I was expecting!

Look at all that avocado! I swear there was some lettuce under there.

I also got two sushi rolls, the AAC (avocado, asparagus, cucumber) and the sweet potato.

I forgot to order brown rice instead of white but c’est la vie, these were delicious. The wasabi totally cleared out my sinuses. 🙂

Eventually Mike and I decided to make use of the awesome cookie cutters we had gotten from Ikea a couple weeks ago. Our recipe went like this:

1/2 cup non-hydrogenated margarine
2/3 cup sugar
2 TBS applesauce
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I Love Vanilla)
1-2/3 cups flour (plus more for rolling)
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees
-Mix all ingredients except the flour
-Once the mixture is creamy, add the flour
-More flour may need to be added if the dough is not stiff enough
-Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and roll or flatten with hands
-Cut out cool shapes while sneaking bits of dough
-Bake for 6-8 minutes

Can you figure out what the shapes are?

The recipe actually made quite a few cookies, there was a whole other pan of unpictured ones. I’m not sure how long they will last over there though because they’re pretty yummy!

When I got back, my appetite had returned with full force. I ended up eating a carrot cake Clif bar (how appropriate on Easter, right?) and a bowl of Kashi berry blossoms cereal with almond milk which was perfectly satisfying.

Emily ❤

Question: Favorite thing to bake? Mine is definitely cookies.

7 responses to “Sushi & Sugar Cut Out Cookies

  1. Sushi and cookies, you can’t go wrong!! Cute cookies too. I love the moose!

  2. LOVE the cookie cutters! That is definitely a squirrel or whale hahaha

  3. your right!!! it is a snail!! i am so excited to see you tomorrow 😀

  4. Pingback: Central Park & Sushi Round Two | extraordinarymoments

  5. Pingback: Chocolate Cake Protein Bake | extraordinarymoments

Leave a Reply

