Chocolate Cake Protein Bake

Yesterday went by in the blink of an eye. I woke up and headed to the gym for 60 minutes on the elliptical followed by stretching and strength. My calves and quads are sore today! Besides classes and intense paper writing, I had some pretty awesome eats.

When I got back from lunch, which always consists of a huge salad, I figured I should keep up with my ongoing resolution to include more protein in my diet. Thus, I created the chocolate cake protein bake. I wasn’t expecting my experiment to turn out all that great but I ended up loving it!

I kind of just threw everything in a tupperware and mixed until I had a brownie batter-like consistency. So the measurements might be off but here’s what I’ve got:

2 TBS homemade pancake mix (a combination of oat and buckwheat flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt)
1/2 scoop Lifetime Life’s Basics vanilla plant protein
1 TBS cocoa powder
Stevia or sugar to taste
Water

Mix ingredients until you have a thick-ish mixture, microwave for two minutes (or however long), and voila!

It was super chocolatey but not especially sweet, so I ended up sprinkling a packet of Sugar in the Raw on top.

And then I went crazy and added some Earth Balance.

It has about 15 grams of protein and 5 grams of fiber and is seriously SO good.

After I was all powered up from that, I did some more paper writing until around 6:00 when I met Danielle and some other people for dinner. I had a ton of veggies, rice, and sweet potato fries, but couldn’t resist making SUSHI! I know, I have totally been on a sushi kick lately.

My friend Jess made a spicy tuna roll:

And I made a veggie roll of course:

Yum!

In other news, I am totally obsessed with this heart rate app:

It measures your heart rate when you place your index finger over the camera lens. 49 might seem a little low but it is a pretty normal heart rate for me so I think the app is probably pretty accurate!

I’m currently in a computer lab going over my philosophy paper before I hit print. I should make it quick because I’m probably stinking this place up after my 5 miles at the gym (while watching the Royal Wedding coverage)!

Emily ❤

Question: Have you ever surprised yourself with what you can make in the microwave?

8 responses to “Chocolate Cake Protein Bake

  1. mmm that sushi looks amazing now i want some for dinner!!

  2. I had sweet potato fries last night too! Yum.

  3. Aw making sushi is so fun!
    What is the app called?!

  4. Pingback: Things I Love Thursday XVII. | extraordinarymoments

  5. Pingback: Banana Bread Protein Cake | extraordinarymoments

  6. Pingback: Protein Conscious | extraordinarymoments

  7. Pingback: Lazy Rainy Monday | extraordinarymoments

Leave a Reply

