Yoga & Summertime Eats

I didn’t feel like running yesterday. I don’t know why, but the thought of lacing up my shoes and hitting the pavement seemed less than appealing. I’m waiting on purchasing a summer gym membership until I figure out a few things about where I will be and what I will be doing. Until then, I’m all for yoga. I love yoga and used to do it every morning last summer. When I got to college however, that wasn’t really an option. Luckily that’s where I discovered my love for running and NYC is the perfect place to inexpensively entertain that form of exercise.

Living in NYC was, for lack of a better description, bittersweet (albeit more sweet than bitter). When I was there I missed things about home like driving and all the open space. But when I’m home I miss the convenience of public transportation, the environment of running in Central Park, the people, and the extensive dining options. You can pretty much find anything in New York. Luckily for me, I’m heading down there for the weekend!

Anyway, my Sister and I headed over to Wegmans yesterday to pick up a few things. This vanilla almond milk ice cream? Holy yum. Perfect for the warm muggy weather we were having yesterday.

Liv got Wegmans brand lemon sorbet. I tried some and it was good!

Don’t let the spoon to pint container action fool you, we pretty much only taste tested in the car. I do have to drive a manual transmission after all, I can’t be spoon feeding and shifting at the same time!

And of course I wanted plenty of ice cream left to make this awesomeness:

A couple scoops of vanilla almond milk ice cream topped with Mr. Sprinkles natural chocolate sprinkles, a little blob of peanut butter, and shredded unsweetened coconut. AKA heaven.

As far as “real” food goes, I made another loaf of whole wheat bread in the breadmaker per my Mom’s request. I toasted a slice, spread with a little Earth Balance, topped with sliced tomatoes and basil nuked in the microwave, and sprinkled with a little garlic and salt.

Tomato and basil is the best summer flavor combination!

Well, I’m off for a run before I get ready to leave!

Emily ❤

Question: What is your favorite summertime flavor combination, sweet or savory? Can you drive standard?

3 responses to “Yoga & Summertime Eats

  1. Tomato and basil is one of the best flavor combos for summer! i like to add balsamic and mozz too 🙂

  2. I love basil and lemon! I put them in pasta salad, cookies, scones, everything! Aside from chocolate, they’re my two favorite flavors in the world and they’re so yummy together!

  3. That ice cream looks delish! I’ve never tried the Almond Dream brand before- but I love the So Delicious icecream- yummy! 😀

Leave a Reply

