Lentil Rice Burgers

After getting in four miles at the gym, I headed home to work in my garden. While I was outside, I found a four leaf clover!

I hope it brings me luck!

Up next was lunch:

I had a typical salad with an Italian lettuce blend, spring mix, carrots, tomatoes, pinto beans, pasta sauce (I swear it’s good), forty spice hummus, and balsamic vinegar along with some unpictured corn thins.

I then cleaned my car, inside and out because it was much-needed and the weather was perfect for it. After being somewhat productive, I headed over to a friend’s house to watch the UEFA Champions League final.

I was starving when I got home so I snacked on some raw veggies while cooking up something more substantial for dinner. I sauteed some carrots, mushrooms, green beans, parsnips, and onions while lentils and rice simmered on the next burner.

Lentil Rice Burger for One:
3 TBS lentils
1 TBS brown rice
1-2 TBS tomato sauce (or ketchup)
1 TBS vital wheat gluten
1/2 Tsp Mrs. Dash (or other seasonings)
1/2 to 1 Tsp Braggs Liquid Aminos (or soy sauce)

In a small sauce pan, combine lentils and rice with 1/2 cup water. Let simmer over medium/low heat until everything is cooked, 20-30 minutes. Take about 3/4 of the lentils and rice and process in a blender (or magic bullet or food processor) until crumbly. In a bowl, combine the processed mixture with the unprocessed mixture, add the tomato sauce, seasonings, and Braggs and mix well. Add the gluten, mix with hands, and form into a patty. I cooked my burger on a lightly oiled George Foreman grill but I’m sure it would work equally well on a regular grill.

Besides being cheap and easy, the nutritional stats for this are incredible:
Total Fat 0.6g (1%)
Saturated Fat 0.0g (0%)
Total Carbohydrates 25.5g (9%)
Dietary Fiber 10.2g (41%)
Sugars 3.0g
Protein 14.6g

Well, I’m off to the gym before I head to a friend’s lake house for the weekend!

Emily ❤

Question: Do you ever make homemade burgers? Veggie or non? Favorite recipe? Usually I go for a portobello mushroom burger but I love this lentil rice burger!

One response to “Lentil Rice Burgers

  1. Oh yess these look delish 🙂
    I’m always down for a good veggie burger!

Leave a Reply

