Getting (And Staying) Motivated

After finishing a 7 mile run at the gym this morning I got to thinking, with such an interest in fitness, it sometimes slips my mind that a large majority of people don’t regularly work out. Excuses range from the expense of a gym membership to lack of time, but I personally think it comes down to motivation. If you have the motivation, you will work out. And hard.

In my personal experience I’ve undoubtedly gone through periods of lost motivation but over the past year, without the structure of jr. high and high school team sports that had been keeping be active for the past six years, I’ve figured out what works for me. So without further ado,

My Tips For Getting (And Staying) Motivated:

Set A Goal
It’s easy to skip out on a workout if you’re not working toward anything. However, if you are training for something, a race or a weight loss goal for example, having a set plan like a schedule to prepare you to achieve that goal makes you feel somewhat accountable in terms of getting a workout in. I typically follow Hal Higdon’s training plans with some variations and print out my own calendars so I can have the satisfaction of highlighting each workout I complete. You can start small with your goals, easing your way in or you can do as I did with a “go big or go home” attitude and sign up for your first race ever, a half marathon.

Grab A Partner
I don’t actually follow this tip very frequently because I prefer to run alone, but on longer runs Danielle and I run together. Also, since I’ve been home I’ve been taking our pup on a lot of my runs, it’s hard to say no when she’s so smiley and excited about running!


Blog
Start your own blog and/or read other healthy living or fitness blogs. The blogging community is so positive and encouraging that it’s hard not to get motivated! Of course keep in mind that bloggers only show you what they want you to see, nobody is perfect so don’t get too caught up in the comparison trap (someone recently posted about this, I don’t remember who though!). Angela, Gabriela, Katie, Matt, Mama Pea, and Averie are just some of my favorite bloggers!

Eat Well
When I eat healthily, I want to work out. When I eat junk, I want to lounge on the couch all day. Eating a solely plant based diet works well for me but I know many others feel differently. Fueling your body properly with a food philosophy that works for you will allow you to have stellar energy levels to keep you moving!

So those are just a few things that work to motivate me!

Question: Do you agree or disagree with any of these? Do you have anything to add?

One response to “Getting (And Staying) Motivated

  1. I agree with all of these! Although for me – if i get up and work out i eat healthy…if I don’t i eat bad!

Leave a Reply

