Boxing Hall of Fame 2011 Induction Weekend

Thank God this weekend is over! Working at the International Boxing Hall of Fame is always a blast but also seriously exhausting. In addition to already being exhausted, we made the poor (but completely worth it) decision of going out Saturday night and not getting back until 2:30am which resulted in less than three hours of sleep to power our very busy day.


Graziano’s makes the best greens in the world!


And the best pasta!


Me and Allie

Allie, Tamika, and Jordan


Dancing with Dicky Eklund

Double fisting XL iced coffees and 5 hour energy shots to stay peppy.


Taking a nap while we locked up the gift shop for the induction ceremony.

A photo sent by my Mom of Mike Tyson in the parade.

Working at the hall of fame entails a sort of air of professionalism regarding the boxers and therefore although we interact with them we leave the photo-ops and autograph requests to the fans. However, the media covered the event exceptionally well so I’ll leave you with some articles and videos to peruse:

ESPN: Tearful Mike Tyson Inducted into Boxing Hall of Fame

The Washington Post: Tyson, Stallone, Chavez Enter Boxing Hall of Fame

The Post Standard: The Growth of the Boxing Hall of Fame’s Induction Day Has Been Unreal

NY Daily News: Mike Tyson Fulfills Dream of Ex-Trainer Cus D’Amato With International Boxing Hall of Fame Induction

When I finally got home I was beyond excited to relax with this:

Nana’s Cookie Company sent me a few cookies to sample and coconut chip was the flavor I’d been most looking forward to trying. To put it simply, it was insanely delicious. I’m not even sure how to describe it! It was kind of cake-like in flavor but chewy and moist like cookies should be. Besides being fabulous taste-wise, the ingredients and nutritional stats are pretty exceptional for a cookie!

Do you know who else would appreciate an amazing vegan cookie like this? Mike Tyson! Mike Tyson has been following a plant-based diet for a while now which is something I really admire.

Anyway, every morning with the exception of Sunday (my rest day) I got up at 5:00am to get to the gym before work. Thursday was a 4 mile run, Friday was 60 minutes on the elliptical, and Saturday was a 3 mile run plus yoga. Today is supposed to be my long run day, 8 miles, I just need to get my butt out the door to run it!

Emily ❤

Question: Do you like boxing? I honestly knew very little about it before I started working at the hall of fame in 2008!

Leave a Reply

