Cookies, Carrots, & Collards

Even though I’ve been out of school for over a month, today is the first official day of summer! After a five mile run at the gym and a trip to the grocery store (to get four half gallons of various flavored ice creams, whipped cream, brownies, cheesecake, chocolate syrup, and a few other things for my Mom’s dessert party with her class) I came home and celebrated by laying in the sun!

And baking cookies!

After seeing double chocolate cookies on Nicole’s blog, I knew I had to make some. I used Veganomicon’s chocolate chocolate chip recipe and although they are currently set aside for a some other people, my Mom and I both taste tested and they are de-lish!

My modifications to the recipe included white whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose, evaporated cane juice instead of white sugar, almond milk instead of soy, hazelnut extract instead of almond extract, and omission of the walnuts!

With whole wheat flour and flax in these babies, I’d definitely go out on a limb to say they’re pretty healthy. For cookies at least!

With temperatures in the 80s today, smoothies and shakes were definitely welcome. I perused Katie’s healthy milkshake recipes and decided to make her carrot cake shake!

Instead of a whole banana, I used 3 ice cubes plus about 1/3 of a frozen banana and a little guar gum to thicken. I also used all almond milk instead of coconut milk. It wasn’t heavy like a real milkshake would be and was fantastic flavor-wise!

In terms of real food today, I am still pretty lentil-obsessed. I made my Mom and myself lentils, collard greens, and polenta seasoned with garlic, onion, basil, and S&P for dinner. We both really enjoyed it!

Emily ❤

Question: Do you have any food obsessions lately?

4 responses to “Cookies, Carrots, & Collards

  1. Aww it makes my day every time someone links to me 🙂 hehe.
    Umm food obsessions lately… strawberries. It’s kind of sad how many I’ve eaten. At least it’s not carrots, which have kinda given me an orange hue…

    And I’ve also been pretty much putting anything and everything into a wrap. haha. 🙂
    lovely cookies btw! I’ve made those before, they’re delightful 🙂


    n

  2. Aww I’m so excited you made the shake! 🙂

Leave a Reply

