Pesto + Guacamole

Today was a huge contrast from yesterday temperature-wise. It only got up into the 60s! My right ankle was a little sore from yesterday’s running so I headed to the gym for a joint-friendly albeit tough 45 minute “random terrain” elliptical workout at level 5. I definitely think you can get a great workout on the elliptical but so many people choose not to take advantage of the different workout settings and levels. Jenna Marbles says it best. By the end of my 45 minutes I was drenched in sweat and felt compelled to change my shirt before doing my ab workout. Yeah, gross, I know.

Anyway, after I finished up at the gym I ran a few errands including a trip to the bank, post office, and grocery store. The rest of my day was pretty relaxed.

While Cheya and I were outside playing fetch I picked a ton of fresh basil and parsley from the garden. I decided to utilize my new food processor to make pesto (sort of).

1-1/2 cups basil + 1/2 cup parsley:

+ 1/2 an avocado + 2 tablespoons nutritional yeast + salt + garlic + onion:

+ a few seconds in my snazzy new food processor:

= pestomole! Or gaucesto!

I pretty much made up the recipe as I went and I’m more than happy with the result. Kitchen success! I already want to put this on just about everything.

On a sweeter note I tried this new nana banana Wai Lana Yogi bar.

The ingredients are stellar but don’t let the nutrition facts fool you, there’s 2 servings in one package!

The ingredients, appearance, texture, and taste are all very similar to Larabar’s banana bread flavor (which is a good thing).

Overall, I thought this bar was good. Not great and not terrible, just good.

Emily ❤

Question: Are you a pesto or guac fan? I love both so it was only a matter of time before I brought them together!

 

Leave a Reply

