Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Oreo Stuffed Cookies

I got an early start to my day to make sure I could fit in playing with the dog, running 4 miles, and showering before heading off to work. While at work I received a text message thanking me for a package that I sent as a surprise which now means I can finally post about these cookies! I sent two boxes of cookies to two of my favorite people, Mike and Andrew, and even though they don’t read my blog, in the unlikely chance that they did happen to stumble upon it I didn’t want their surprise to be ruined.

I saw the idea for these cookies somewhere on the internet but took them to the next level as peanut butter chocolate chunk Oreo stuffed cookies!

Ingredients:
2-1/4 cups white whole wheat flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
1 cup natural peanut butter
1-1/2 cups sugar (I used 1 cup evaporated cane juice and 1/2 cup dark brown sugar)
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
2 TBS. ground flax mixed with 4 TBS. warm water
2 TBS. unsweetened applesauce
Chopped dark chocolate (I used Lindt 70%)
Oreos (If I were eating them I would’ve used Newman O’s)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix the ground flax and water, set aside to gel. Whisk together the sugar, peanut butter, applesauce, vanilla, and gelled flax mixture. Combine the dry ingredients and add to the wet.

Using a tablespoon, make a ball of dough and flatten. Place an Oreo on the flattened dough and top with another tablespoon of dough. The amount of dough may not seem like enough but trust me it will be!

Bake on parchment paper lined baking sheets for 12-15 minutes and voila!

A beautiful cookie with a hidden surprise!

My Mom, the official taste-tester, loved these cookies! And according to Mike they are “absolutely fabulous,” and “one of the best things I’ve ever eaten,” and “eating one of those was definitely a perfect start to the weekend.”

I think I’ll have to remake these sans the artificial flavoring and high fructose corn syrup (from the Oreos)  for moi!

Emily ❤

Question: Are you a fan of Oreos or Oreo-like cookies?

Leave a Reply

