Miniature Yellow Bundt Cakes

So, I woke up early today to get to the gym for a 60 minute elliptical session. 60 minutes on the elliptical is a long time, I don’t care what anybody says. My toes were numb when I finished! On the bright side, if you gave me a quiz on CNN’s news stories this morning I’m pretty sure I’d pass with flying colors. Oh, and I can tell you how many times Manny Pacquiao’s HP touchpad commercial came on. (At least 3 if not 4.)

Breakfast pre-workout was 2 clementines, and post-workout 1 apple. My lunch at work was a tupperware container filled to the brim with sliced zucchini, cauliflower, and carrots with tomato sauce and roasted red pepper hummus for dipping.

Along with a bunch of unpictured garlic sesame flax crackers (SO hearty and awesomely yummy)!

When I got home I was beyond hungry for something sweet! And of course I wanted to use my new mini bundt cake pan. So, here’s what I came up with…

Ingredients:
1-1/2 cups white whole wheat flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup evaporated cane juice (I used 1/4 cup plus stevia)
1/2 cup shredded yellow summer squash (or zucchini although it would make your cupcake/muffin/donuts greenish)
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup nondairy milk (I used unsweetened almond)
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar (the magic ingredient!)
1 tablespoon ground flax mixed with 2 tablespoons warm water

And here’s what you do:
-Preheat oven to 350 degrees and spray or grease bundt, muffin, or donut pan.
-Mix the flax and warm water, set aside.
-Mix the nondairy milk and vinegar, set that aside as well.
-Whisk together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt.
-Combine the sugar (and/or stevia), shredded squash, vanilla, milk/vinegar, and flax/water. (I used my food processor to mix the wet ingredients which rendered the squash shreds indiscernible, a good thing in my book!)
-Next, mix the wet ingredients with the dry.
-Spoon into baking pan and pop in the oven for 10-12 minutes.

These are so light and fluffy (thanks to the baking powder and vinegar)! And they pass the Sister test, she said they were great! (I didn’t tell her there were vegetables hiding in ’em, shh…)

Anyway, if you’re looking for a glaze or something to top these with, I’d recommend just about anything! Chocolate-dipped, strawberry, peanut butter, or plain vanilla-glazed. Plus sprinkles or chopped nuts… the options are pretty much limitless! Of course, they are absolutely delicious on their own as well.

Emily ❤

Question: What was the last kitchen accessory or appliance you purchased? When my Mom and I were at Walmart the other day I fell in love with this pan! I couldn’t justify the $25.00 price tag though, but miraculously found the mini bundt pan I have now at the Christmas Tree Shops for $5.99 the next day!

2 responses to “Miniature Yellow Bundt Cakes

  1. Pingback: Why I’m Worn Out Wednesday | extraordinarymoments

Leave a Reply

