Chocolate Zucchini Cake

What’s a girl to do on a rainy day off from work? Baking would’ve been a good option, and I had high hopes for making something today. But this girl turned on the oven a total of zero times today.

After my 4 mile run at the gym I instead came home and worked on my sewing project! I made some good progress and can’t wait for it to be finished. Later in the day, Jerod and I went to see Friends With Benefits which was fantastic. Seriously, I loved it so much. If you haven’t already, go see it!

Lest you think I’ve misled you with the title of this post, I did bake yesterday and I do have a chocolate zucchini cake recipe for you! To use up some of the massive zucchini we have (which are not bitter at all, yay!), I decided to bake with some of it!

Ingredients
1-1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup cake flour (or white or whole wheat)
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2-1/2 cups shredded zucchini
Greek yogurt (I used a 100g container of Chobani Honey-Nana)
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup evaporated cane juice
1/2 cup melted butter
1 TBS pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray or grease a baking dish, loaf pan, or cupcake tins (bake times will vary). Whisk together the flours, cinnamon, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and cocoa. Mix the zucchini, yogurt, sugars, butter, and vanilla. Combine the wet and dry and pour into the baking dish. I used a large glass rectangular baking dish and the cake was perfectly done after 30 minutes.

While the cake was cooling, I made a batch of buttercream frosting using just butter, powdered sugar, vanilla, and the magic of the electric mixer.

So it’s obviously not vegan (although Earth balance or oil and almond or coconut milk yogurt could easily be used), but it is pretty healthy for a cake. Especially with the amount of veggies, whole wheat flour, and antioxidant-rich cocoa in there. Because I’m not a dairy fan and Liv isn’t a chocolate fan, I nominated Jerod as the official taste tester. He described them as “good” and “deceiving.” I guess hiding veggies and whole grains in a moist, sweet, and chocolately cake is pretty sneaky!

I sent him home with a plate of half frosted and half non-frosted cake pieces and he reported back that his family has already happily dug in! I do however, have plenty of slices staying fresh in the freezer to give to my grandparents when I get a chance!

Emily ❤

Question: Have you ever made baked goods with veggies? From zucchini bread/cake to sweet potato rolls to carrot cake to pumpkin baked goods… I most certainly have!

One response to “Chocolate Zucchini Cake

Leave a Reply

