I’m Back & Baking!

My blogging break has come to a close! However, posting might remain a little sporadic for these next few days weeks.

Anyway, onto the exercise front! I’ve been keeping my running mileage pretty low when I’m working during the week, about 30 minutes (3ish miles) of cardio plus some strength training each day. It leaves me feeling good and energized without exhausting myself.

On the weekends I tend to have more motivation for longer workouts. Yesterday Jerod and I went to Green Lakes State Park where we did a 6 mile run followed by a 2 mile hike. Besides getting a great workout in, we had fun!

The non-fun part of yesterday included me locking my keys in my car at the gas station. Apparently the location of this gas station is about 50 feet outside of the village (aka across the street) and because of this the police couldn’t unlock my car for me. Luckily, my boss needed a tuna sandwich at that exact moment approximately 20 minutes after the initial realization of this disaster and I ran into his girlfriend (the most wonderful kind-hearted person ever) who is friends with one of the policemen on duty. In literally less than 2 minutes from running into her, my car was unlocked and I was on my way home! <- This right here, is one of the very few examples of the benefits of living in a small town.

Moving on! I recently updated my heart rate app. If you have an iPhone you should get this app! It’s a borderline obsession of mine.

On the food front, I did some baking recently!

These chocolate chip cookie-blondie-bar type things were almost a baking fail (don’t ask), but they turned out amazing and are sadly long gone.

Today I got to work on some cupcakes for my parents to taste test. My mom is having a party this weekend and I need to test them out on people before serving to the masses!

Banana Split Cupcakes

S’mores Cupcakes

While the cupcakes are vegan (adapted from VCTOTW), the frosting and other toppings (except for the banana and strawberry slices) are not.

For the banana split cupcakes, I made a half batch of chocolate cake batter and a half batch of golden vanilla cake batter. In half of the vanilla cake batter, I added a mashed banana, and if the other half I added finely diced strawberries. Then I filled each tin with a spoonful of chocolate, then a spoonful of banana, and then the strawberry! I topped these with vanilla buttercream frosting, a slice of banana, a slice of strawberry, and a drizzle of chocolate sauce.

I took a similar approach to the S’mores cupcakes. The bottom of the cupcake is golden vanilla (with some cinnamon and brown sugar for a more graham cracker-like flavor) and the top is chocolate. These were also topped with vanilla buttercream frosting along with a toasted marshmallow and a piece of milk chocolate.

The verdict so far is good!

Emily ❤

Question: Have you baked anything lately? If so, what? If not, what would you love to bake?

2 responses to “I’m Back & Baking!

  1. Welcome back!!! I’ve missed you. LOVE You.

  2. Pingback: Baking, Kittens, Shopping, & Fitness! | extraordinarymoments

Leave a Reply

