Green Lakes & Birthday Cakes

So here’s the deal, we have tons of zucchini coming out of the garden and tons of beer leftover from the party. The solution? Beer battered zucchini fries!

I don’t have a perfected recipe yet… But I assure you, I’ve got plenty of zucchini and beer to work with so I’ll keep trying!

Take that zucchini times at least 6…

Moving on! If you follow me on Twitter you’ll know I tried a new flavor of kombucha.

Strawberry! Yum.

On the workout front, I went to Green Lakes yesterday for a 6.05 mile run finished in 56:37.

After the 6 miles I proceeded to complete a 2 mile run/walk/hike/jog all. up. hill. So exhausting! Later in the day I tackled the first day of week 2 of Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30. I am sore today!

Today, I pounded out an awesome 3 mile run at an 8:54 min/mi pace. The weather was beyond gorgeous and I felt awesome! These past 2 days of running have been some of my favorite runs as of late! I also did day 2 of week 2 of Jillian!

Anyway, today is my mom’s birthday! So of course I made her a cake. Since I wasn’t planning on having any, it isn’t vegan. However, everything including all the flavors and colors are all natural! And I used a blend of whole wheat pastry flour and unbleached cake flour. Healthy? No. Healthier than a mainstream cake? Definitely!

Later on my mom and I drove up to Old Forge for the Adirondacks National Exhibition of American Watercolors. It was great!

We stopped at Old Forge Hardware before heading home. This place isn’t your typical hardware store, they have everything!

I pretty much wanted to buy every single kitchen gadget and baking pan.

Overall it has been a great couple of days!

Nugget/Chloe/Thumper/Chanel/Phoebe/Identity Crisis in the garden!

Emily ❤

Question: Cakes: Buy or homemake?

One response to “Green Lakes & Birthday Cakes

  1. Great pic of identity crisis!!! guess she’s a keeper.

Leave a Reply

