Favorite Daily Eats

I have to admit, I regularly get in food ruts. You know, where you eat the same thing day after day? I try to vary my diet but sometimes I just crave the same thing over and over!

Like my almond milk yogurt cup pictured above. 1/2 cup plain Amande cultured almond milk plus a spoonful of natural peanut butter, some dry roasted almonds, a handful of kashi honey sunshine, and some all natural chocolate sprinkles. The only thing stopping me from eating this everyday for the next seven weeks or so is the fact that we’re all out of almond milk yogurt. And chocolate sprinkles.

For lunch I’ve been having the same pita sandwich for days on end. 1 whole wheat pita halved and filled with garlic lover’s hummus, organic spring mix, organic tomatoes from the garden, and organic zucchini from the garden.

Sometimes when I’m feeling jazzy I drizzle on some balsamic vinegar or add fresh basil or spicy salsa but for the most part it’s the same thing through and through.

And then there’s the burger and veggie combo for dinner. Tonight was a butter bean burger with garlic, onion, oregano, and red pepper flakes, but over the course of the past two weeks chickpea and black bean burgers have made appearances on the dinner plate.

The recipe is pretty simple: 1 can of whatever beans you have on hand mashed with whatever seasonings your heart (or tastebuds?) desires plus a tablespoon of flour, a tablespoon of oats, and 2 tablespoons of vital wheat gluten. I cook my burgers on a George Foreman grill sprayed with cooking spray or brushed with oil and they always turn out good!

I’m also recently obsessed with Dinosaur Bar-B-Que’s original BBQ sauce.

It has good ingredients and better yet, it tastes amazing!

I could put this on everything.

Except maybe these cookies…

I’ll admit cookies weren’t part of my food rut, but I baked cookies tonight as a gift to my boss (my last day of work is tomorrow!) so of course I had to taste test one two. Recipe tomorrow!

Other unpictured, but worth mentioning, daily eats include fresh fruit of course! Apples, bananas, and watermelon!

Emily ❤

Question: Do you eat the same things over and over or do you change up your eats every day? 

 

Leave a Reply

