Mom In Manhattan & The High Line Park

This weekend my mom came down to the city! After doing some browsing at Lord and Taylor on Saturday, we hopped in a cab and went out to dinner at Josie’s West. I had the butternut squash ravioli and she had the shrimp with organic “un-fried” rice. Both dishes were incredible! Thank you to my mom for gracing my taste buds with something other than dining hall food or Chinese takeout.

After dinner, we walked down to Columbus Circle and to Whole Foods. I had a muffin for dessert while my Mom and I sat and chatted for a long while before parting ways.

Sunday morning Danielle, Lizzy, and I headed all the way uptown to my uncle’s apartment to meet my mom and sister for brunch. We used Whole Foods 365 brand whole wheat pancake mix to make plain, blueberry, and chocolate chip pancakes along with fresh strawberries and pure maple syrup. Yum!

This morning I dragged myself out of bed for a nice 2.5 mile run under beautiful blue skies and a bright, warm sun. I’ll definitely be sad when this weather is gone!

To fully take advantage of what’s sure to be one of the last summer-like days in New York, Oscar and I made a quick trip to the city to check out the High Line Park.

The High Line Park was originally an elevated railway that ran through the lower west side of Manhattan.

When the demand for freight transportation took a nosedive, the railroad was no longer needed and ended up being partially demolished and abandoned.

Eventually the idea to develop a park from what remained took hold and the creatively designed High Line Park was the result.

Thanks to @oscdz for all the photos!

The remainder of my day from about 4:00 on has consisted mainly of studying for my upcoming midterms. I’m feeling positive about them!

Emily ❤

Question: Where is your favorite park? Central Park is mine but the High Line Park is super cool!

2 responses to “Mom In Manhattan & The High Line Park

  1. i love central park – the size of it is the best!

  2. Butternut squash ravioli sounds so delicious!
    Love your blog – it’s so cute 🙂

Leave a Reply

