Daily Archives: March 5, 2011

S’Mac & St. John’s

My plans for this afternoon started with a lunch date to S’Mac with my friends Lizzy and Danielle!

S’mac is a great little place that specializes in mac & cheese with options to accommodate all diets. They have gluten free options, lactose free options, vegan options, and of course “regular” stuff!

I ordered the vegan nosh with multigrain macaroni, mushrooms, tomatoes, and basil. It was so good!

After we finished lunch, we stopped by my Mom’s cousin’s restaurant nearby. He told us we needed to get to Barney’s asap for the sale going on! But unfortunately (well fortunately for our wallets maybe) we had to get back to the university to attend the last conference basketball game.

Before hopping on the subway, we made a quick pit-stop into Whole Foods. I got two bakery items. A vegan double chocolate chip cookie…

And a chocolate chip scone.

The cookie was delicious but the scone was a little dry. I saved most of it for when I got back to my room and ate it with a glass of cold almond milk for dunking. Yum.

Today’s diet was severely lacking in the fresh fruits and veggies department so I had some crudites and hummus before heading to the game to balance everything out.

The game was great, we won 72-56 against USF. And I got a bunch of text messages saying I was being broadcasted on TV chanting “hey, you suck.”

Classy Emily, classy.

Emily ❤

Question: Do you like mac & cheese?

Kickoff To Spring Break

First up, Friday night recap:

Celebrating a successful week of midterms!

Moving on, this morning Danielle and I were up bright and early to head to Central Park for our long run. It was a beautiful day with blue skies, sun, and a high of nearly 60 degrees!

I always feel so weird whipping out my phone to take a picture while I’m running but I couldn’t resist capturing the beauty of today!

Don’t let the looks of exhaustion fool you, we were feeling awesome after our 9 miles. We headed to Whole Foods after our run to get a quick recovery snack. I got a banana nut bread Clif Bar and Danielle got some fresh fruit and a vanilla almond Luna Bar along with some bottles of water.

Like Kashi GoLean, the soy protein in the Clif Bar didn’t upset my stomach like soy milk has in the past. Any thoughts on why that might be?

I have some other plans for today, more on that later!

Emily ❤

Question: Favorite snack?